top of page

The Early Days

MIDLAND JUNCTION admitted to B grade in WACA competition. First grade quality players linked with North Perth’s first grade side.

Midland Junction catchment area extends into the Swan Districts with club name changed to Midland Swan.

 Following post war reconstruction of Clubs and a spike in playing numbers from Guildford the club was renamed to be MIDLAND GUILDFORD CRICKET CLUB. Through the impact of war only a B grade team competed in this season.

MIDLAND GUILDFORD nominated Blue and Gold for club colours however were not accepted as Claremont had ownership of these. Chocolate and blue became the club colours but were later changed to the current black and white.

With the establishment of Province Teams, Midland Guildford and Mount Lawley form the North East Province and won the premiership.

District cricket clubs introduced for the first time. District clubs were Claremont, Subiaco, Mt Lawley, East Perth, University, Fremantle, NE Fremantle and North Perth. Sub-district clubs approved as Cottesloe, Nedlands, West Perth, Bassendean, Southern Suburbs, Subiaco, East Perth, Midland Guildford, North Perth, Claremont, North East Fremantle, Fremantle and Mt Lawley.

Due to the impact of war no MGCC teams nominated for the coming seasons.

Midland Town Hall the venue with Wally Westly and Arthur Clarke appointed Chairman and Secretary of a Committee established to negotiate with the WACA and organize the reopening of MGCC.

Proposal from the WACA to have MGCC dropped from First Grade to eliminate a bye in this grade.

WACA rescinds motion to relegate Midland Guildford and moves Bassendean down to second grade.

Victorian Ken Meuleman agrees to play with MGCC.

Midland Oval hosts the West Indies touring team playing against MGCC supported by some Sheffield Shield players from other clubs.

First grade team rises from 3rd on the table at the end of the regular season to defeat West Perth in the final and go back to back premiers. A civic reception is held at the Rosehill Country Club by the Swan Shire council.

1902/1903 –

1914/1915 –

1918/1919 –

OCT 1923 –

1932/1933 –

JUL 1935 –

SEP 1941 –

JUL 1946 –

SEP 1947 –

SEP 29, 1947 –

1952/1953 –

OCT 16, 1960 –

1969/1970 –

– 1910/1911

– 1917/1918

– 1919/1920

– 1930/1931

– APR 1933

– SEP 1936

– FEB 1946

– SEP 1946

– SEP 15, 1947

– 1948/1949

– 1957/1958

– 1968/1969

– 1981/1982

MIDLAND JUNCTION admitted to WACA first grade competition.

No teams entered into WACA competition due to World War I.

MIDLAND GUILDFORD CRICKET CLUB returns to First grade competition.

 The B2 team wins the premiership by defeating East Perth.

WACA proposal for Province cricket be abandoned is not supported.

C grade introduced to WACA competition.

Arthur Clarke of the “Swan Express” calls a meeting to start preparations to re-open the club.

At a WACA Special General Meeting MGCC is reinstated into the WACA competition.

MGCC delegates Arthur Clarke and Ben Davies fight for MGCC to retain first grade acceptance and propose Bassendean be dropped to the next grade.

Horrie Smith secures the prized recruitment of Wally Driver from Victoria.

MGCC competes in the grand final in first grade for the first time, being defeated by North Perth.

MGCC wins the first grade title for the first time, defeating Nedlands by 661 runs. MGCC also wins the club championship for the first time. The recruitment of Norm O’Neill from New South Wales is crucial to the success, with individuals also winning awards in the following categories:

  • Kevin Gartrell – batting aggregate with 898 runs

  • Mike O’Shaughnessy – bowling trophy with 31 wickets @ 9.93

  • Dennis Yagmich – WACA Fielding Trophy (under 21s)

MGCC moved its home ground from Midland Oval to the picturesque Lilac Hill Park ground in Caversham.

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Youtube
  • Instagram
bottom of page